A Brief Introduction To Cricket

A Brief Introduction To Cricket

Cricket is a modern-day sport performed between two teams. Every workforce has eleven players. The game is performed on an oval or spherical formed ground which has a rectangular 22 yard long pitch at the center. One crew bats to score as many runs as possible. The opposite staff stops the run flow by dismissing the batsmen. A run is scored when a batsman hits the ball with his bat, runs to opposite finish of pitch and touches the crease there without being dismissed.

There are three formats of the game:

a) Test Cricket
b) One Day Cricket
c) Twenty-Twenty

Test Cricket

The oldest form of cricket is Test Cricket. The game of cricket really evolved with Test Cricket. Records show that first ever test match was played between Australia and England in the year 1876-77. The game of cricket has come a long way since then. The foundations have changed a lot. A test match is played over a period of 5 days with each crew batting and bowling twice. Maximum over that may be bowled in a day is 90 while there is no limit on the number of over a single bowler can bowl. Over 2000 test matches have been performed till date.

There are nine test playing nations which are full members of International Cricket Council - The Worldwide Cricket Governing body. These members are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

One Day Worldwide

Limited over cricket was introduced in England in the yr 1963. Internationally, the primary limited over game was performed within the year 1971. One game is played in a single day. A bowler can bowl a maximum of 10 over's in a game. In 1975, a new tournament known as World cup came into existence. All International Cricket Council members gathered at one place for a sequence of matches towards every other. The winners of tournament had been termed as World Champions.

World cup is performed after each 4 years. ICC has carried out 10 world cups till date. Australia grew to become champions 4 occasions, West Indies and India twice while Pakistan and Sri Lanka once. The last world cup was held within the yr 2011 and was won by India.


The latest evolution in the game of cricket is twenty-twenty. Right here, every crew plays 20 overs and a bowler can bowl a most of 4 overs. First worldwide Twenty-twenty game was performed in the 12 months 2005 between Australia and New Zealand. First twenty-twenty world cup was held in 2007. The tournament is performed every years and twenty-twenty world champions are crowned. 20 international groups have performed the game till date.

If you loved this informative article and also you desire to acquire more information concerning Cricket Highlights i implore you to pay a visit to the page.